Skip to content

God still loves you. In fact, He (She? It?) may even like you better now.

06/16/2010

The concept of God can get people all bent out of shape, so I want to tread lightly here. I happen to be an Episcopalian, but I don’t believe we – or any other Christian denomination, or any other belief system – have a lock on the pathway to truth and peace. It’s just the path I use, and it’s been a very good one for me. If another path works better for you, go for it!

The reason I’m bringing all this up goes back to my first sentence: The concept of God can get people all bent out of shape. And that can mean trouble for gay people, complicating the process of coming out. Growing up – not as an Episcopalian by the way ­– I was taught that God would punish me if I stepped out of a fairly narrow band of acceptable behavior. But, I couldn’t reconcile that with my inborn sexuality. I couldn’t help being attracted to boys. It just happened. Was I born bad? What would God do to me?

This set me off on two not-so-healthy paths. One was to raise the middle finger to religion – spirituality of any sort – and simply walk away. Walk, hell! I ran. The other was to assume that I wasn’t really gay because I was also attracted to girls. I could get it up and do the deed. But underlying all this, was a scared, lonely gay boy who needed the strength of a universal presence, and who needed to live honestly. It took me more than 40 years, but I finally came home to myself. At long last, life makes sense.

Here’s where I’m going with this: I believe God loves His (Her? It’s?) creation. Always and infinitely. And with infinite patience. And that includes loving you. In my case, God was just hanging out, right around the corner, waiting for me to come in His direction so he could load me down with peace, and grace and happiness.

But none of that could really happen, not for me at least, until I embraced the gay man God created. God always loved me, but I think he likes it when I honor Him by embracing myself the way I was made. God loves the gay David he made, and he likes it when I like the gay David too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nanci Reese permalink
    06/16/2010 2:29 PM

    Dear David,
    Are you getting any of these comments – I am not sure I am doing it right.
    This one about God is particularly good. My bother who was living on an ialand in the panhandle of Alaska(500 people) studied Greek and maybe Aramaic(SP) and found all sorts of references to homosexuallity being ok compared to the King James. He would have length arguements w/ the only minister on the island. I don’t know what happened to his research. So when right wingers quote chapter and verse against homosexuality they are sometimes wrong.
    But this God post was very movig.
    love,
    nanci

  2. 06/16/2010 3:22 PM

    Thanks for reading and writing back. I agree that the Bible, both Old and New Testaments are mis-quoted and selectively-quoted to condemn homosexuality.

Leave a Reply

